မင်္ဂလာပါ!

လှိုက်လှဲစွာကြိုဆိုပါသည်။ ယခု ပထမဆုံးအကြိမ် ရောက်ဖူးခြင်းဖြစ်ပါသလား? ဝင်ရောက် ဆွေးနွေး မေးမြန်းလိုပါလျှင် အောက်တွင်ဖော်ပြထားသော button များမှတဆင့် ဝင်ရောက် ဆွေးနွေးနိုင်သကဲ့သို့ အဖွဲ့ဝင်အသစ်အနေဖြင့်လည်း လျှောက်ထားနိုင်ပါတယ်။

MYSTERY ZILLION တွင် English သို့မဟုတ် Unicode ဖြင့်သာ အသုံးပြုခွင့်ရှိသည်။ ဇော်ဂျီ ၊ ဧရာ စသည်တို့ကို အသုံးပြုခွင့် မရှိ။ Unicode fonts များမှာ Mon3,Yunghkio, Myanamr3 စသည်များ အသုံးပြုနိုင်သည်။ Unicode Guide ကို ဒီမှာ Download ချပါ။ Zawgyi to Unicode Converter
Don't share ebook or software if nobody request. You can find free book websites on here. We are welcome for discussion or asking question instead.

My ubuntu problem

edited May 2008 in Ubuntu
Hello

I installed Ubuntu 8.04 LTS Server using a CD that was
requested. And just after the installation has finished, it rebooted
with the following error message.

This kernel requires the following features not present on the CPU:
0:6
Unable to boot - please use a kernel appropriate for your CPU.

Mine is a Core 2 Duo and the cd cover mentions it will run on intel
x86 based systems (including Pentium, Intel Xeon and AMD Athlon).
Is this the source of the problem?

မှတ်ချက်များ

  • edited May 2008 Registered Users
    I also tried server-amd64. But for this, it didnt even allow me
    to install. Says it's not a x86-64 processor but only a i686 cpu.
    Use a kernel appropriate for your cpu. I dont get what it means.
    How can I choose a kernel? Please guide me with the process.
    I have very less knowledge about kernels.
  • edited May 2008 Registered Users
    Can you give me the file name of your ISO file that you downloaded. (I expect you did not changed the file name thogh)?
    By that, you can identify if you downloaded the right file for your CPU architecture.
    i686 files are not for x86 CPUs and vice versa.
  • edited May 2008 Moderators
    hi,

    its quite clear, you r trying to install 64bit kernel on 32 bit machine.

    x86-64 - 64bit kernel
    x86 - 32bit kernel

    they are different, you have to use x86-i386 ubuntu not x86-amd64

    regards,
    mark
  • edited May 2008 Registered Users
    Actually, I have 2 editions. One was requested. And the rest
    is downloaded.

    On the requested CD's cover, it is written This Server will run
    on Intel x86 based system (including Intel Pentium, Intel Xeon and
    AMD Athlon). The first post is the problem that came up just
    after the installation using that CD.

    And because of that problem, I downloaded ubuntu-8.04-server-amd64.iso
    and it wont even allow me to install. Halt with
    the error message stating that my cpu isnt a x86-64
    processor. It's only a i686 cpu.
  • edited May 2008 Registered Users
    From what I understand, I suppose I tried both 32-bit and 64-bit versions.
    However, no success. If you think I need to download correct iso,
    please tell me where to do so as I saw only 2 kinds of iso there.
    Thank you very much.
  • edited May 2008 Moderators
    k0y0m0 wrote: »
    From what I understand, I suppose I tried both 32-bit and 64-bit versions.
    However, no success. If you think I need to download correct iso,
    please tell me where to do so as I saw only 2 kinds of iso there.
    Thank you very much.

    hi

    ubuntu-8.04-server-i386.iso
    should be that one

    regards,
    mark
  • edited May 2008 Registered Users
    Yayy!! Finally, mission accomplished. :1:

    I was using VirtualBox to install Ubuntu. And I have ubuntu-7.10-server-i386.iso
    already. So, I tested with it and I faced "Your cpu is too old" error. So, I googled
    it and found out its VirtualBox's bug. Though they say, it's fixed in v 1.6, it is still
    there. Now I installed through VMware and it is a success. I installed using the
    CD that I requested which is for x86 systems. Thank God it worked.

    Also thanks to kotharthar and mark. :1:
  • edited May 2008 Moderators
    k0y0m0 wrote: »
    Yayy!! Finally, mission accomplished. :1:

    I was using VirtualBox to install Ubuntu. And I have ubuntu-7.10-server-i386.iso
    already. So, I tested with it and I faced "Your cpu is too old" error. So, I googled
    it and found out its VirtualBox's bug. Though they say, it's fixed in v 1.6, it is still
    there. Now I installed through VMware and it is a success. I installed using the
    CD that I requested which is for x86 systems. Thank God it worked.

    Also thanks to kotharthar and mark. :1:

    good to hear that,
    i also learned about virtualbox issues from you :)

    regards,
    mark
Sign In or Register to comment.